China includes India’s Arunachal Pradesh in its updated map

IANS: China has included parts of Arunachal Pradesh within its international boundaries, an updated version issued by Sky Map has revealed. Sky Map, China’s authority on digital maps, is constructed and operated by a unit directly under Beijing’s National Surveying and Mapping Geographic Information Bureau.

Arunachal Pradesh, a hill state in the Northeast bordering Tibet, was part of British India in 1913-14 and formally included in India when the McMohan Line was established as the border between India and Tibet in 1938. China continues to consider Arunachal Pradesh a part of Tibet, which it occupied in 1951.

The map of China, until now, is based on the 1989 edition of the Sky Map of its national borders. Though since then, China has successively solved its border issues with Russia and Central Asian countries, but none of them have been reflected in the map.

China has claimed its sovereignty over Tibet “counties bordering India and Bhutan from east to west — “Chayu county, Medog county of Linzhi city, Cuona county, Luoza county of Shannan city, Kangma county, Yadong county of Xigaze city”.

Chayu, Medog, and Cuona counties are divided by the McMahon Line with the northern parts in China and the southern parts in India. “Longzi County in Shannan City does not theoretically border India, but the McMahon Line runs through the county from southwest to northeast, with Chinese control in the west and Indian control in the east.”

However, China calls Indian area and part of Chayu county, Motuo county of Nyingchi city and Longzi county and Cuona county of Shannan City, “South Tibet”.

China occupies India’s Aksai Chin, around 37,000 sq km uninhabited high-altitude desert part of the former state of Jammu and Kashmir, bordering China’s Xinjiang province.

Nepali Sanchar is online based Nepalese Media from Melbourne, Australia. It broadcasts online radio, tv and news portals.